Author Topic: No overpays  (Read 1367 times)

No overpays
« on: July 01, 2015, 02:24:36 PM »

Offline TheSlipperyWhistle

• The Green Kornet
  • Tommy Points: 12
I don't want an overpaid Tobias Harris. I don't want an overpaid Jae Crowder. Let them pass/walk. Get worse to get better. The past 3 months of playoffs/draft/FA run up have me thinking 3 things:

1. We don't have a true asset to our name.
2. One top 10 pick is worth 6 number 16's.
3. I am a new resident in tanksville.

Look at Philly. I know their culture is shot and no one goes to their games right now, but soon... they will have one of the better teams in the league (through dev or trade).

We don't get top FA's. And GM's are weary of Ainge because he rarely looses a trade... (Rondo, BKLN). So the draft is our only option IMO.

Re: No overpays
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2015, 02:27:24 PM »

Offline D.o.s.

• NCE
  • Cedric Maxwell
  • Tommy Points: 1239
One of the ways to display a favorable atmosphere toward Free Agents is by signing players to what some fans might consider "overpaying" contracts.
At least a goldfish with a Lincoln Log on its back goin' across your floor to your sock drawer has a miraculous connotation to it.

« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2015, 02:27:41 PM »

Offline littleteapot

• Jayson Tatum
  • Tommy Points: 93
I think we've chosen our path and unfortunately it involves competing in this free agent market for young talent, which unfortunately also means overpaying.
How do you feel about websites where people with similar interests share their opinions?
I'm forum!

« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2015, 02:34:19 PM »

Online knuckleballer

• Paul Silas
  • Tommy Points: 664
The salary cap was $63m in 2014/2015 and is projected to be $108m in 2017/2018.  That's a 70% increase in 3 years.  It's almost impossible to overpay right now.

« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2015, 02:37:37 PM »

Offline SHAQATTACK

• James Naismith
  • Tommy Points: 2968
Dump bass and ET

Sign

Harris