Author Topic: Is a College Degree Really Worth it?  (Read 18771 times)

Is a College Degree Really Worth it?
« on: April 07, 2015, 10:06:15 AM »

Offline CelticD

• Bill Walton
  • Tommy Points: 140
I'm a 19 year old sophomore currently enrolled in St. Francis College NY, and I wanted to know if staying all four years, amassing large amounts of debt, and getting a college degree is truly worth it. For one, I'm majoring in "Communications" which I'm beginning to see is a useless major (no offense to anyone that has that major too). I'm also minoring in sports management but have yet to even take a class in that subject because I'm registering late due to financial issues. There are a plethora of "core classes", and "electives" that I must pay for and take in order to graduate, but if I continue to take these classes, I would've takn more classes outside my major and minor than inside.

Don't even get me started on textbooks. Not only are the prices outrageous, but teachers make it mandatory to purchase it, and even penalize you for not bringing the textbook to class. If the textbook is created by a teacher in the school, once you purchase it, you're not allowed to return it because a new edition would have been made before the semester even ends. And the difference between the editions are so miniscule it should be a crime to call it "new".

I'm not against school, or education, just "college". I'd rather go to a trade school, or be a non-matriculated student.

I work at Family Dollar, as an Assistant Store Manager and have a part-time job as IT Mover (all I do is move office equipment such as phones and computers.) I'd very much like to ditch Communcations and focus on IT but the people that I work with often tell me that you don't necessarily need an IT degree. Taking specific classes and earning IT licenses, are good enough to get a career going.