Author Topic: Goran Dragic a fit for the Celtics?  (Read 2931 times)

Goran Dragic a fit for the Celtics?
« on: January 01, 2015, 09:30:15 PM »

Offline Ed Hollison

• Jaylen Brown
  • Tommy Points: 195
Red's Army had a post today on Goran Dragic, arguing that the Suns will need to part with one of their expensive backcourt chips (Dragic, Bledsoe and I. Thomas) and that Dragic may be available by trade at the deadline.

http://redsarmy.com/2015/01/01/why-the-celtics-should-target-goran-dragic/

I haven't watched much of Dragic play, so I'm really not that familiar with his game. Just wondering what others think about this.

One thought, which the post kind of touched on... Smart really opens up a great deal of flexibility regarding who you choose to go after at PG or SG, because of his ability to guard both backcourt positions effectively. So the notion of pairing him with a sweet-shooting, offensively-minded PG and asking Smart to guard the tougher of the backcourt opponents makes sense to me.
"A thought of hatred must be destroyed by a more powerful thought of love."

http://fruittreeblog.com

Re: Goran Dragic a fit for the Celtics?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2015, 09:47:07 PM »

Offline Tr1boy

• Paul Pierce
  • Tommy Points: 867
yes, yes yes

« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2015, 09:49:24 PM »

Offline Boris Badenov

• Rajon Rondo
  • Tommy Points: 1065
I'd be more up for it if Dragic were 24 instead of 28. At that age, he's a mid-level piece I think you acquire later on in the rebuilding process.

But yeah, the basic premise that Smart and Dragic (or a Dragic-type) would be a nice fit seems sensible enough to me.

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2015, 09:51:47 PM »

Online jpotter33

• James Naismith
  • Tommy Points: 2906
Red's Army had a post today on Goran Dragic, arguing that the Suns will need to part with one of their expensive backcourt chips (Dragic, Bledsoe and I. Thomas) and that Dragic may be available by trade at the deadline.