Author Topic: Austin Rivers is High School Player Of The Year  (Read 7802 times)

Austin Rivers is High School Player Of The Year
« on: March 10, 2011, 03:53:59 PM »

Offline Roy H.

• Forums Manager
  • James Naismith
  • Tommy Points: -25636
  • Bo Knows: Joe Don't Know Diddley
Austin Rivers has been named the 2011 Naismith National High School Basketball Player of the Year on Thursday.

The 6-4 shooting guard averaged 29.2 points and 6.1 rebounds per game this season. Rivers led the Wildcats to a 28-5 record and a second consecutive Florida Class 6A title, where he scored 25 points, grabbed 11 rebounds and dished out four assists in a 52-44 win over Dr. Phillips. Rivers headlines the No. 3 recruiting class in the NCAA.

“Being named the Naismith Player of the Year is a tremendous honor, especially considering only one person each year earns this prestigious award,” Doc Rivers said. “As a parent, I am extremely proud of Austin and as a coach, I'm impressed with how hard he works each day on becoming a better player. Our family is full of pride that Austin is receiving such a remarkable accolade and will be noted with this amazing distinction in basketball history."

Link.

Doc has to be awfully proud.  I can't wait to see this kid playing in the pros.

I'M THE SILVERBACK GORILLA IN THIS MOTHER——— AND DON'T NONE OF YA'LL EVER FORGET IT!@ 34 minutes

Re: Austin Rivers is High School Player Of The Year
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2011, 03:55:07 PM »

Offline Assassin70

• Jayson Tatum
  • Tommy Points: 164
Good for him
"The only correct actions are those that demand no explanation and no apology."

Red Auerbach

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2011, 04:22:51 PM »

Offline EmilioBonilla

• Kristaps Porzingis
  • Tommy Points: 8
Austin is nastyyy, I watched a view highlight films and the dude has skillsss
I bleed Green

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2011, 04:23:10 PM »

Offline the_Bird

• Ray Allen
  • Tommy Points: 176