Author Topic: 7/7 Globe Editorial -- Letter to Ray Allen  (Read 3394 times)

7/7 Globe Editorial -- Letter to Ray Allen
« on: July 07, 2008, 10:04:39 AM »

Offline SShoreFan 2.0

• Jaylen Brown
  • Tommy Points: 201
From Today's Boston Globe:

Living, growing, and learning to deal with diabetes
By James S. Hirsch

To: Ray Allen
Boston Celtics
226 Causeway St.
Boston, MA 02144

DEAR MR. ALLEN,
On the surface, you and I don't have much in common. You're a rich, famous basketball player who can get the best table at any restaurant in Boston. I'm just a writer in the 'burbs who has to wait in line at Bertucci's, which is never pretty.

But we actually have something very much in common. Your 17-month-old son, Walker, was just diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes, requiring insulin each day to live. My son, Garrett, was diagnosed at age 3. He is now 7, and during your playoff run, he wore his favorite Celtics shirt - No. 20 - so often that the numbers are scraping off.

There is never a good time to discover that your child has diabetes, but I can imagine that your circumstance - on the morning of an NBA championship game - was more difficult than most. It may have lacked the Bloody Sock's visual drama, but I hope your play in Games 5 and 6 receive their proper acclaim in Boston sports history.

Walker is now part of a sobering national trend. It used to be rare that a child his age developed diabetes. Now it's not. The government doesn't formally track these numbers, but any pediatric endocrinology clinic in America will confirm significant increases in diabetic children, particularly age 3 and younger. No one knows why.

I won't pretend to know everything about diabetes, because as you'll soon discover, you learn something new every day. But I can offer you a few tips.