Author Topic: Grammar Talk / How to use Affect/Effect Effectively or is it Affectively?  (Read 13969 times)

Offline cdif911

• Antoine Walker
  • Tommy Points: 43
I am a school teacher and keep wondering how they are going to afford fuel for the buses. This Tuesday is an abbreviated day where the kids pickup there report cards on the last day of school. They come from 8-9:30am. What a waste of tax payers money. We already sent the report cards home Friday. ???

wait, you're a teacher and misused affected (its with an a if its a verb), those poor poor kids... (I make mistakes all the time - I'm a teacher too - just bustin ya)

but yeah, I didn't even think about the buses, thats pretty annoying, though I do think at least in our district, we negotiate a price prior to the year, so the bus company is the one losing money on the deal, not the taxpayers

personally, I have about a 20-25 minute commute each way, so I go through a tank a week, and that means considerably less disposable income, I think I'll be doing a lot of walking this summer
« Last Edit: May 24, 2008, 03:50:09 PM by Redz »
When you love life, life loves you right back

Re: How are gas prices Affecting you?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2008, 03:18:00 PM »

Offline Chief

• Robert Parish
  • Tommy Points: 2450
I am a school teacher and keep wondering how they are going to afford fuel for the buses. This Tuesday is an abbreviated day where the kids pickup there report cards on the last day of school. They come from 8-9:30am. What a waste of tax payers money. We already sent the report cards home Friday. ???

wait, you're a teacher and misused affected (its with an a if its a verb), those poor poor kids... (I make mistakes all the time - I'm a teacher too - just bustin ya)

but yeah, I didn't even think about the buses, thats pretty annoying, though I do think at least in our district, we negotiate a price prior to the year, so the bus company is the one losing money on the deal, not the taxpayers